Special Issue: Weather Reports:  All About the Weather (Free)


In late November until December 21, 2016, we will be open to non-contest submissions on this special issue topic through Submittable*. This double issue will be published and mailed out to subscribers and contributors in late Summer 2017.

Work submitted should fit the topic of "Weather Reports: All About the Weather." We are open to work that covers any of the many possibilities in how we think about and experience the weather through science, history, popular culture, art, and our own lives.

All submissions should be original, unpublished poetry, fiction, or literary nonfiction in English. Please inquire before submitting any translations. Please limit submissions to one longer fiction or literary nonfiction piece (six pages or more) or two shorter prose pieces; poets should limit submissions to six poems and no more than ten pages of work overall. If a writer submits more than one piece of work and needs to withdraw part of the submission, please request to edit your Submittable submission and remove the piece or pieces no longer available. Please use the proper genre category for your submission.

(There will be an earlier date, September 1, for online submissions to our Special Issue Feature Awards, and these submissions close at the end of the day on November 15, 2016 (extended). All submissions for the Special Issue Feature Awards are also considered for publication in the 2017 double issue). We will be reading submissions throughout and hope to complete the editorial work on the issue by the end of February 2017. Writers whose work is selected will receive $25 (US) per magazine page ($50 minimum for poetry; $100 minimum for prose) and two copies of the issue.

This will be the final time for submissions to a print edition of CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.

Work submitted should fit the topic "Weather Reports: All About the Weather." We are open to work that covers any of the many possibilities in how we think about and experience the weather through science, history, popular culture, art, and our own lives.

All submissions should be original, unpublished fiction in English. Do not submit more than one story (six pages or more) or two shorter pieces per submission. Stories should be twenty-five pages or less. Novel excerpts are acceptable, as long as they stand on their own as fiction. We are open to all styles of fiction and include four to six stories in every issue.

If a writer submits more than one piece of work and needs to withdraw part of the submission, please request to edit your Submittable submission and remove the piece or pieces no longer available.

We will be open to submissions until December 21, 2016, and we hope to complete the editorial work on the issue by the end of February 2017. Writers whose work is selected will receive $25 (US) per magazine page ($50 minimum for poetry; $100 minimum for prose) and two copies of the issue.

This will be the final time for submissions to a print edition of CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.







Work submitted should fit the topic "Weather Reports: All About the Weather." We are open to work that covers any of the many possibilities in how we think about and experience the weather through science, history, popular culture, art, and our own lives.

All submissions should be original, unpublished poetry in English. Poets should limit submissions to six poems and no more than ten pages of work overall. If a writer submits more than one piece of work and needs to withdraw part of the submission, please request to edit your Submittable submission and remove the piece or pieces no longer available.

We will be open to submissions until December 21, 2016, and we hope to complete the editorial work on the issue by the end of February 2017. Writers whose work is selected will receive $25 (US) per magazine page ($50 minimum for poetry; $100 minimum for prose) and two copies of the issue.

This will be the final time for submissions to a print edition of CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.



Work submitted should fit the topic "Weather Reports: All About the Weather." We are open to work that covers any of the many possibilities in how we think about and experience the weather through science, history, popular culture, art, and our own lives

All submissions should be original, unpublished literary nonfiction in English. We publish non-academic explorative essays of twenty-five pages or less, including memoirs, vignettes, and essays on identity and culture. Do not submit more than one piece (six pages or more) or two shorter prose pieces per submission.

If a writer submits more than one piece of work and needs to withdraw part of the submission, please request to edit your Submittable submission and remove the piece or pieces no longer available.

We will be open to submissions until December 21, 2016, and we hope to complete the editorial work on the issue by the end of February 2017. Writers whose work is selected will receive $25 (US) per magazine page ($50 minimum for poetry; $100 minimum for prose) and two copies of the issue.

This will be the final time for submissions to a print edition of CRAB ORCHARD REVIEW.







 

Credit Card / PayPal single copy orders of the following issues of Crab Orchard Review for individuals or institutions with U.S. delivery addresses only (while copies are available)

$12.50 (processing fee and postage included; $1.50 discount on 2014 and 2015 issues).

 

Available issues:

Volume 20, Number 2, Summer/Fall 2015, our 20th anniversary issue, "20 Years: Writing About 1995 – 2015"  NOW AVAILABLE!

Volume 20, Number 1, Winter/Spring 2015, general issue with COR Literary Prize winners and Student Writing Award winners NOW AVAILABLE!

Volume 19, Number 2, Summer/Fall 2014, special issue, "The West Coast & Beyond" 

Volume 19, Number 1, Winter/Spring 2014, general issue with COR Literary Prize winners and Student Writing Award winners

Volume 18, Number 2, Summer/Fall 2013, special issue, "Prairies, Plains, Mountains, Deserts"

Volume 18, Number 1, Winter/Spring 2013, general issue with COR Literary Prize winners and Student Writing Award winners

Volume 17, Number 2, Summer/Fall 2012, special issue, "Due North"

Volume 17, Number 1, Winter/Spring 2012, general issue with COR Literary Prize winners 

Volume 16, Number 2, Summer/Fall 2011, special issue, "Old & New ~ Re-Visions of the American South"

Volume 16, Number 1, Winter/Spring 2011, general issue with COR Literary Prize winners

Volume 15, Number 2, Summer/Fall 2010, special issue, "Land of Lincoln ~ Writing about and from Illinois"

Volume 15, Number 1, Winter/Spring 2010, general issue with COR Literary Prize winners

Volume 14, Number 2, Summer/Fall 2009, special issue, "Color Wheel ~ Cultural Heritages in the 21st Century"

Volume 14, Number 1, Winter/Spring 2009, general issue with COR Literary Prize winners

Volume 13, Number 2, Summer/Fall 2008, special issue, "The In-Between Age ~ Writers on Adolescence"

Volume 13, Number 1, Winter/Spring 2008, general issue with COR Literary Prize winners

 

Instructions: 


1. On the "Enter Your Billing Information" page, input your billing address and credit card information. If you prefer, you may instead pay with PayPal by clicking the link at the bottom of the page. 

2. Click "Process Payment and Continue." 

3. On the "Submit to Crab Orchard Review" page, your "Title" should be your name, your "Cover Letter" should simply say "please mail to:" followed by your mailing address, and "Submission Content" should specify the volume and number you wish to order, such as "Vol. 19, No. 1." 

4. Click "Submit to Crab Orchard Review." 

Note: You should type the mailing address as the "Cover Letter," even if it is the same as the billing address. We will mail your issue to you or the address you indicate "Media Mail" as soon as we receive your order. This $12.50 price applies only to orders mailed in the U.S. (domestic).

Thank you,

Jon Tribble
Managing Editor